Enter your login details
Not got a profile? Create one now!
Sign up to My MKC
Your Course Shortlist

Student of the Year

Milton Keynes College loves to celebrate the achievements of its learners with the annual Students of the Year awards ceremony, which was held this year at Woburn Sculpture Gallery.


The evening is always a stand-out event in the College’s calendar, shining a light on a wide range of achievements and success stories, bringing together students and staff from across the entire spectrum and crowning one overall Student of the Year.

All of the award winners are chosen from the College’s full cohort of students from across Milton Keynes and beyond, with each having been personally chosen by their tutors and classmates. Each of the winners from the night are chosen for their ability to demonstrate excellence and dedication to their study programmes and future careers in addition to supporting their classmates and promoting the College in the community.

On the night itself, the awards are presented by representatives of each category’s industry sponsor, demonstrating and developing the College’s partnerships with commercial businesses and providers.

Claiming the top prize as overall Student of the Year  2017 was Karen Mwamba who received her award from sponsor Blue Point. In addition to claiming the overall Student of the Year, Karen also collected the prize for the Business Retail and Logistics category.

All of the 2017 Students of the Year award winners are listed below. They all demonstrate perfectly the College’s values: inspiration, excellence, innovation, integrity and respect.



Speaking after the awards ceremony, MK College Principal and Chief Executive Dr Julie Mills was delighted for all the winning students. She said:

“Congratulations to all our amazing award winners from tonight’s ceremony.
“Students of the Year is always a highlight for everyone at Milton Keynes College as it gives us an excellent opportunity to recognise the hard work, dedication and achievement of our learners and staff.
 “Each of tonight’s winners has demonstrated all of the College’s values throughout the last twelve in all their achievements and conduct; they are a credit to the College and the wider community of Milton Keynes.”


Check out the gallery of photos from the night on our Facebook page or see the full list of award winners and sponsors below.

Jordan Maxey Built Environment Award BuildBase
Karen Mwamba Business Retail & Logistics Award Blue Point
Cameron Coleburt Andrew Peck Award Andrew Peck
Jennifer Mitchell
Academic Studies & Applied Science Award
The Citizen
David Hatton OLASS Student of the Year Jeanius
Simon Newbery Adams Engineering Prize Adams Engineering/MK Community Foundation
Dylan Langley Hair & Beauty Award Chris & Sons
Christina Lawson Community & Employment Programmes Award ECG Ltdiyu
Josh Peel Care Professions Award PJ Care
Henry Mead Motor Vehicle Award Jardine Motors Group
Megan Lambert Inclusive Learning Award Indysis
Yasser Osman ESOL & Alternative Provisions Award MK Community Foundation
Aaron Higman Creative Media Production Award Santander
Lindsey Brooks-Charlesworth Professional Qualification Award Howes Percival
Dan Davison Enterprise in Digital Technologies Award MK Business Leaders
Marcello Pilla Engineering Award Niftylift
Brittany-Fay Humble Higher Education Award Open University
Jack Stapleton Creative Performance & Music Award Movey
Sophie-Louise Hughes Childcare Award Kidsplay
Bailey Williams English & Maths Award RSM
Andre Cromwell Sports & Public Services Award University of Northampton
Gemma Hudson Students' Choice Awards - Teacher of the Year, Campus Protocol
Jennifer Jones Students' Choice Awards - Teacher of the Year, OLASS Protocol
Aime Brown Students' Choice - Support Teacher of the Year Protocol
Jake Stokes Catering & Hospitality Award Holiday Inn
Prince Adomako Apprentice of the Year MK Dons
Karen Mwamba Overall Student of the Year 2017 Santander


Connect with us