Enter your login details
Not got a profile? Create one now!
Sign up to My MKC
Your Course Shortlist

Students of the Year

Milton Keynes College loves to celebrate the achievements of its learners with the annual Students of the Year awards ceremony, held at Bletchley Campus.


The evening is always a stand-out event in the College’s calendar, shining a light on a wide range of achievements and success stories, bringing together students and staff from across the entire spectrum and crowning one overall Student of the Year.

All of the award winners are chosen from the College’s full cohort of students from across Milton Keynes and beyond, with each having been personally chosen by their tutors and classmates. Each of the winners from the night are chosen for their ability to demonstrate excellence and dedication to their study programmes and future careers in addition to supporting their classmates and promoting the College in the community.

On the night itself, the awards are presented by representatives of each category’s industry sponsor, demonstrating and developing the College’s partnerships with commercial businesses and providers.

Claiming the top prize as overall Student of the Year  2016 was Isobel Jones who received her award from sponsor Santander . In addition to claiming the overall Student of the Year, Isobel also collected the prize for the Sports and Public Services category.

As well as completing her study programme, Isobel, who is part of the Great Britain swim squad, has secured a place at University in the USA on a full swim scholarship.  During the course of her time at MK College Isobel has travelled to Barcelona, Geneva and the Canary islands for training and competition and still managed to achieve an attendance of over 90% in addition to submitting all her work on time and to a high standard.

All of the 2016 Students of the Year award winners are listed below. They all demonstrate perfectly the College’s values: inspiration, excellence, innovation, integrity and respect.



Speaking after the awards ceremony, MK College Principal and Chief Executive Dr Julie Mills was delighted for all the winning students. She said:


“Congratulations to all our amazing award winners from tonight’s ceremony.
“Students of the Year is always a highlight for everyone at Milton Keynes College as it gives us an excellent opportunity to recognise the hard work, dedication and achievement of our learners and staff.
 “Each of tonight’s winners has demonstrated all of the College’s values throughout the last twelve in all their achievements and conduct; they are a credit to the College and the wider community of Milton Keynes.”


Check out the gallery of photos from the night on our Facebook page or see the full list of award winners and sponsors below.

Manizeh Yousefi ESOL & Alternative Provision Award MK Community Foundation
Russell Gray Enterprise Award MK Business Leaders
Jason Parish Community & Employment Programme Award ECG Ltd
Eden Sadler A-Levels Award MK Citizen
Emma Clarke Higher Education Award The Open University
Simon Etherington Professional Qualifications Award Inderdirect
Tom Merchant Apprentice of the Year MK Dons SET
Sophie Way Creative, Performace & Music Award MK City Orchestra

Jacob Provan

Emily Berry

Alex Robinson

Principal's Ambassador Award Mirus IT

Anouar Kassim

Julia Upton

Principal's Partnership Award MK College
Hiral Patel Care Professions Award PJ Care
Jeff Conrad Digital Technologies Award Santander
Darrel Holland Motor Vehicle Award Jardine Motors Group
Crystall Fleming Catering & Hospitality Award Holiday Inn MK
Karl O'Brien Adams Engineering Prize Adams Engineering / MK Community Foundation
Isobel Jones

Sports & Publis Services Award

Student of the Yeat



Vasily Gerrans Built Environment Award Kier
Mandy Lunt Academic Studies & Applied Science Award The University of Northampton

Cathy Rutledge

Wayne James

Mark Lee

Student's Choice Staff Award Protocol
Sophie Harding Childcare Award Kids Play
Richard Bates Offender Learning Award Bluepoint
Kathleen Heavey english & Maths Award Managed 24/7
Alex Wagstaff Hair & Beauty Award Chris & Sons
Scott Ager Andrew Peck Award MK College
Katharyn Bull Inclusive Learning Award Movie Video Marketing
Ana Alexandre Under 16s Award MKFM
Casey Aldridge Progress Award MK College
Marcin Trojak Engineering Award Niftylift
Kalin Storch Business, Retail & Logistics Award Shakespeare Martineau