Level 2 Certificate in Understanding Safeguarding and Prevent

  • STUDY MODE Part-Time

What will I do?

The Certificate in Understanding Safeguarding and Prevent comprises of ten units:
Unit 1 – Understand the Prevent duty
Unit 2 – Understand the terms radicalisation, extremism and terrorism
Unit 3 – Understand how to reduce the risk of radicalisation
Unit 4 – Understand the term safeguarding
Unit 5 – Understand the national and local context of safeguarding and protection from abuse
Unit 6 – Know how to recognise signs of abuse or potential harm
Unit 7 – Know how to respond if abuse or harm is disclosed, suspected or alleged
Unit 8 – Understand the potential consequences of inappropriate or illegal online activity
Unit 9 – Understand how to reduce the risks posed online
Unit 10 – Know about potential signs and behavioural changes that could cause concern.


What's next?

By undertaking this course, you will gain formal recognition by obtaining a nationally recognised qualification. This will enable you to further your own continuous professional development, which could support you in improving your career prospects.


Is it for me?

This qualification is for anyone who is responsible for the safeguarding of people and for helping prevent radicalisation. It gives learners an understanding of recognising the signs of abuse, how to reduce the risk of radicalisation and the potential consequences of illegal online activity.



  • Start Date Various
  • Course Ref A543-1/2
  • Location Off Site Activity (Distance Learning)
  • Fees N/A

No formal academic qualifications are required to study this course. Learners must be aged 19+ and have lived in the EU for the past three years.

This qualification requires three to four hours of study each week using the distance learning workbooks.  In addition you will be required to successfully complete the tutor marked written assessments as evidence of achievement.

This course takes six weeks to complete.  You can start the course at any time of the year.

The course requires three assessments to be completed and passed to achieve the qualification.

This Level 2 certificate is awarded by CACHE.


Why Choose Milton Keynes?


Strong Links with Over 3,000 Businesses


Outstanding Facilities


Affordable Study Options

Search site