Enter your login details
Not got a profile? Create one now!
Sign up to My MKC
Your Course Shortlist

MK College students commended at annual awards celebration

Fri 25 May 2018 - posted by MK College

Students of the Year is undoubtedly the highlight of the year for Milton Keynes College, where staff and students are celebrated for their achievements over the last 12 months.

This years’ celebration took place at the glorious Sculpture Gallery at Woburn Abbey. The theme for this year was to mark 100 years since the monumental change in the law that allowed some women to vote for the very first time. Women campaigned incredibly hard to make this happen – and they were celebrated on the evening. Tables were aptly named after notable women from the last 100 years, including Emmeline Pankhurst, Malala Yousafzai, and Emma Watson.

The evening was hosted by Dr Julie Mills, and co-hosted by Information Analyst Jonathan Aquilina and Deputy Head of School: Business, Retail & Logistics, Customer Service Industries, Beverley Dass.

All award recipients were nominated by their teachers, employers and support staff, and received a formal certificate and £200.

The overall Student of the Year Award went to Matthew Atkinson, who was also the recipient of the Business, Retail & Logistics Award.

The event also commended the partnerships the College holds, and highlighted the importance of their contributions to the education of our students and their success.


Care Professions Award, sponsored by PJ Care: Shara Ratnayaka
Business, Retail & Logistics Award, sponsored by The Sculpture Gallery, Woburn: Matthew Atkinson
Hair & Beauty Award, sponsored by Chris & Sons: Victoria Winchester
Motor Vehicle Award, sponsored by Jardine Motors Group trading as Lancaster: Alex Valente
Built Environment Award, sponsored by Ashridge Group: Jemma Eyres
Academic Studies & Applied Science Award, sponsored by MK College: Seyi Olukayode
Community & Employment Programmes Award, sponsored by Learning Curve Group: Evanne Al-Mosawi
OLASS Student of the Year Award, sponsored by RMF Construction Training Academy: Ben
Digital Technology Award, sponsored by Santander: Maddison Slade and Melody Slade
Adams Engineering Prize, sponsored by Adams and MK Community Foundation: Jacob Provan
Art & Design Award, sponsored by 1stdibs: Rebecca Springall
Apprentice of the Year Award, sponsored by Routeco: Fabrizio Ciliberti
Sports & Public Services Award, sponsored by MK Dons SET: Liam Woodgate
Principal’s Ambassador Award, sponsored by Mirus IT: Stephanie Harman
Principal’s Partner Award: Marian Livingstone
Childcare Award, sponsored by Kids Play Childcare: Macy Henry
English & Maths Award, sponsored by MK Business Leaders: Darroch Marshall
Catering & Hospitality Award, sponsored by VTCT: Laura Fedoriw
Production Arts Award, sponsored by Romeo Dance Academy: Rajveer Kharod
Inclusive Learning Award, sponsored by Belmont Press: Heather Mackellar
ESOL & Alternative Provisions Award, sponsored by MK Community Foundation: Benediction Mbaya
Higher Education Award, sponsored by The Open University: Annie McDonagh
Engineering Award, sponsored by Niftylift: Zain Mughal
Professional Qualifications Award, sponsored by Howes Percival: Laura Wiegleb

Overall Student of the Year Award: Matthew Atkinson.

MK College Students’ Choice Awards
Teacher of the Year: Kyle Kirkpatrick
Student Support Winner: Pippa Bruckland
OLASS Teacher of the Year: Teresa Smith

Dr Julie Mills commented: "Tonight's winners have demonstrated excellence and dedication to their chosen path, supported others and promoted the good of the College in the wider community. I am sure their family, friends and supporters all feel enourmously proud of their achievements and tonight we celebrate with them".