Enter your login details
Not got a profile? Create one now!
Sign up to My MKC
Your Course Shortlist

The Brasserie is shortlisted for AA College Restaurant of the Year 2018

Wed 27 Jun 2018 - posted by MK College

Following a day-long competition held at the Principal London hotel on 20th June, The Brasserie has been shortlisted in the final three.

15 college restaurants were invited to the judging day following the initial entries. The colleges were required to give a presentation providing details of why they think they should win, their best three dishes from the menu, and details about an event they had been involved in that benefited the students, the industry and the local community.

As part of the task, each team also had to create a new restaurant concept for two-Michelin-starred chef Marcus Wareing, including a restaurant name, style, price point, target market, menu idea and signature drinks.

The teams then heard from Marcus about his experiences in hospitality and the importance of setting goals, before answering questions from the students.

The Brasserie has been shortlisted alongside Parcs at Peterborough College and Trevenson at Cornwall College. This is the third year in a row that The Brasserie has made the final of the awards.

“We are so pleased to get through to the final for the third year running. One of our biggest aims is to offer consistency and this just reaffirm that we are doing just that”, commented The Brasserie Restaurant Manager, Sarah King. “It would be amazing to come away as winners after making the final three times, but more importantly we hope that this helps us to continue to raise our profile within Milton Keynes so we can have a busy restaurant night after night”.

The winner will be announced at the annual AA Hospitality Awards dinner on 24th September.

The 15 colleges that took part:
Ayrshire College – Salt & Barrel
Ayrshire College – Inver
City College Norwich – The Debut
Cornwall College – Trevenson
Fareham College – Avenue 141
Hertford Regional College – The Atrium
Hugh Baird College Liverpool – L20
Leicester College – Taste
London South East College – BR6
Milton Keynes College – The Brasserie
Peterborough Regional College – Parcs
Trafford College – Aspire
University College Birmingham –  Atrium
Warrington and Vale Royal College – Buckley’s
Vison West Nottinghamshire College – Refined

The judges:
Sean Wheeler, chairman of the Hospitality Accreditation Panel and director of People Development – Principal Hotels
Rob Flinter, general manager, Park Plaza Hotels & Resorts
Julian Tomlin, general manager, Pennyhill Park, Bagshot, Surrey
Annette Allmark, director of strategic policy – People 1st
Andy Doyle, membership operations manager – People 1st
Stephen Wilkinson, senior hotel & restaurant inspector – AA Hotel Services
Garry Baldwin, senior hotel & restaurant inspector – AA Hotel Services
Alistair Sandall, head of professional development – Institute of Hospitality